New Zealand vs Australia T20 World Cup 2022: T20 World Cup 2022 Super-12 round started today.

The first match saw a clash between last season’s finalists defending champions Australia and runners-up New Zealand.

In this match played at Sydney Cricket Ground, Australia won the toss and decided to bowl first.

Batting first, New Zealand scored 200 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 3 wickets. In reply, Australia was bundled out for 111 runs in 17.1 overs.

New Zealand won the first match of the Super-12 by 89 runs. Devon Conway was adjudged player of the match for his brilliant batting.

Image Credit: Twitter

Electing to bat after losing the toss, New Zealand got off to a great start. Finn Allen started batting as soon as he arrived.

There was a 56-run partnership for the first wicket between the openers. New Zealand got the first blow on the first ball of the 5th over. Allen was dismissed for 42 runs off 16 balls. He hit 5 fours and 3 sixes in this innings.

The team’s second wicket fell on the last ball of the 13th over. Captain Kane Williamson was dismissed for 23 runs off 23 balls.

New Zealand’s third wicket fell on the last ball of the 16th over. Glenn Phillips returned to the pavilion after scoring 12 runs in 10 balls.

Devon Conway remained unbeaten on 92 off 58 balls and James Neesham on 26 off 13 balls. Josh Hazlewood took 2 and Adam Zampa took 1 wicket for Australia.

Image Credit: Twitter

Chasing the target of 201 runs, Australia got off to a bad start. David Warner was dismissed for 5 runs in 6 balls on the very first ball of the second over.

Australia’s second wicket fell on the last ball of the fourth over. Captain Aaron Finch returned to the pavilion after scoring 13 runs off 11 balls. In this innings, he hit 1 four and 1 six.

This was followed by Mitchell Marsh (16 off 12 balls, Marcus Stoinis off 14 balls), Tim David 11 off 8 balls, Matthew Wade (2 off 4 balls), Glenn Maxwell 28 off 20 balls, Mitchell Starc (4 off 7 balls) and 4 off 7 balls.

Pat Cummins scored 21 runs. For New Zealand, Mitchell Santner-Tim Southee took 3-3, Trent Boult 2 and Lockie Ferguson-Ish Sodhi took 1-1 wickets.

Playing 11 of both the teams

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

New Zealand: Devon Conway (wk), Finn Allen, Kane Williamson (c), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *