T20 World Cup 2022, WI vs IRE: Qualifying rounds are underway for the T20 World Cup 2022. Today, West Indies and Ireland played their 11th match at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.

Batting first after winning the toss, West Indies scored 146 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 5 wickets. In reply, Ireland scored 150 runs in 17.3 overs and won the match by 9 wickets. With this defeat, two-time T20 champions West Indies have been ruled out of the T20 World Cup 2022. Wherein Ireland has made it to the Super-12.

West Indies, who came to bat first, did not get much start. Kyle Meyers’s wicket fell on the fourth ball of the third over. Meyers was dismissed after scoring 1 run off 5 balls. On the second ball of the 5th over, the Windies team got a second blow. Johnson Charles returned to the pavilion after scoring 24 runs off 18 balls.

After this, Evin Lewis scored 13 off 18 balls, Nicholas Pooran scored 13 off 11 balls and Rovman Powell scored 6 runs in 8 balls. Brandon King remained unbeaten on 62 off 48 balls and Odeon Smith on 19 off 12 balls. Gareth Delany 3, Simi Singh and Barry McCarthy took 1-1 wickets for Ireland.

Brilliant innings from Paul Stirling

Image Credit: Twitter

Chasing the target of 147 runs, Ireland’s team got off to a great start. Openers Paul Stirling and Andrew Balbirnie shared a 73-run partnership for the first wicket. The team’s first wicket fell on the third ball of the 8th over. Captain Balbirnie was dismissed after scoring 37 runs off 23 balls. Paul Stirling remained unbeaten on 66 and Lorcan Tucker on 45. Aqeel Hossein took the only wicket for West Indies.

Playing 11 of both the teams

West Indies: Kyle Meyers, Johnson Charles, Evin Lewis, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran (c & wk), Rovman Powell, Jason Holder, Akil Hossein, Odeon Smith, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy.

Ireland: Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie (c), Lorcan Tucker (wk), Harry Tector, Curtis Camper, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Simi Singh, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little.

Image Credit: Twitter

West Indies crashed out of the tournament for the third time in the first round of the T20 World Cup.

2007 – First round out
2009: Super 8
2010: Super 8
2012: Champion
2014: Semifinals
2016: Champion
2021: First round out
2022: First round out

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *